Football Assignment

| 6 images

I was invited to shoot a local football match between Whitwell AFC and Goffs Oak, two small places in Hertfordshire. I put the camera on ‘high speed’ mode and took hundreds of shots. At the half time break the Chairman of the club Dennis pointed out I was tracking the ball exclusively and ending up with lots of action with the ball dead centre. In the second half I tried to think about people and reactions, which next time I’ll think about more. Shooting a football match needs quick reactions, I had the camera on auto-focus, as there was precious little time to readjust as the players ran around. Below are some of my favourites, there are more shots on the Whitwell AFC Facebook page. Let me know what you think of the shots, and your experiences doing sports photos.

